Serving Our Community Since 1962

A Brief History

Club members pose in front of the new

bus in 1980

The Boys & Girls Clubs of Athens has provided a clean, healthy, and safe environment for youth ages 6 to 18 for over 50 years.  Our afterschool activities are designed to fully engage our members in skill building exercises while encouraging them to have fun.  

In addition, we provide the latest proven youth development programs. All activities are supervised by professional staff members and dedicated volunteers. The staff works hard to provide positive experiences for youth on a daily basis. Bus routes directly from all the schools in the Athens area provide opportunities for kids to attend regularly. The Boys & Girls Club is an asset to the Athens community. It gives the youth of Athens a place to play and learn.

We provide a safe environment for youth to learn about life and the possibilities the future holds.

Club members and staff pose in front of the new van in 2018

Serving Athens Clarke County

The Club @ H.T. Edwards

440-4 Dearing Extension

Athens GA, 30606

(706) 357-5368

Alps Road Elementary 
Barrow Elementary 
Chase Street Elementary 
Cleveland Road Elementary 
Oglethorpe Elementary 
Timothy Road Elementary
Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School
Clarke Middle School
Joel E. Smilow Club

705 Fourth Street 

Athens GA, 30601

(706) 546-5910

Barnett Shoals Elementary 
Colie Middle School
Downtown Academy 
Fowler Drive Elementary 
Gaines School Road Elementary 
H.B. Stroud Elementary 
Hillsman Middle School
J.J. Harris Elementary 
Whit Davis Elementary 
Winterville Elementary 
Cedar Shoals High School

Meet the Team

Judy Burke

Bookkeeping and Accounting

Judy@GreatFuturesAthens.com

Adriana Thomas

Director of Marketing & Special Events

Adriana@GreatFuturesAthens.com

Meagan Ellington

Social Media Specialist and Content Creator

Meagan@GreatFuturesAthens.com

Mike Hackett

President/ CPO

Derrick Floyd 

Director of Operations

Derrick@GreatFuturesAthens.com

Cherene Williams

Unit Director HT Edwards

Cherene@GreatFuturesAthens.com

Dedra Evans

Unit Director Joel E Smilow

Dedra@GreatFuturesAthens.com

Sterling Gardner

Director of Resource Development

Sterling@GreatFuturesAthens.com

Tee Noland - Chief Volunteer Officer 

Gwynne Darden

James Whitley 

John Tebeau 

Rhett Butler 

Carey Colquitt

Valdon Daniel

Bonnie Muia

 

Jimmy Newland Jr

Fiske Hopkins 

Brad Lastinger

Jim Newland Sr

Chip Brown

Carey Stephens

Jay Cook 

Matthew Kinney

Mark Jennings

Jeff Bodiford

Justin Roberts 

Walker Keadle

Teresa Payne

Darius Taylor

Chase Lawrence

Brad Lastinger

Meet Our Board of Directors

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

© 2021 Boys & Girls Clubs of Athens